Notice of Study Preliminary Design and Class EA for Highway 148 (East of Greenwood Road to the Quebec Border) - Comments Required by December 7, 2017


Preliminary Design and Class Environmental Assessment

Highway 148 (Greenwood Road to the Quebec Border)

County of Renfrew (G.W.P. 239-0-00)



The Ministry of Transportation {MTO) retained IBI Group to undertake the Preliminary Design and Class Environmental (EA) Study for Highway 148 from east of the Greenwood Road intersection to the Quebec Border, in the County of Renfrew.

The recommended plan includes: the replacement of the CPR bridge with a recreational culvert, 2.5 m paved shoulders along the highway, new right-turn lanes at Traxton Way and Hazley Bay Drive, and pavement rehabilitation.  In order to facilitate the replacement of the CPR bridge, a short-term closure of Highway 148 between Hazley Bay Drive and Greenwood Road will be implemented. During this time traffic will be detoured along Hazley Bay Drive, Forest Park Road, Beachburg Road and Greenwood Road.

Impacted property owners will be notified prior to the detour.


This study followed the approved planning process for a Group 'B' undertaking in accordance with the Class Environmental Assessment for Provincial Transportation Facilities (2000).

The Transportation Environmental Study Report (TESR) documents the proposed work, existing conditions and evaluation of impacts and proposed mitigation measures. The TESR will be available on November 7, 2017 for a 30-day public review period.

Interested persons are encouraged to review the TESR and provide comments by December 7, 2017.1f, after consulting with MTO Project Team members, you have serious unresolved concerns, you have the right to request a Part II Order (bump-up).  A Part II Order can only be requested for the project components addressed in the TESR. Requests should be directed to the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change (77 Wellesley Street West, Floor 11, Toronto, Ontario, M7 A 1 L5).  A Part II Order may lead to the preparation of an Individual Environmental Assessment. A copy of the request should also be forwarded to the MTO Project Team at the addresses listed below. If there are no outstanding concerns at the end of the 30-day review period, the project will be considered to have met the requirements of the Class EA and will move forward into detailed design.

Copies of the TESR are available for review at the following locations during regular business hours:

  • Township of Laurentian Valley, 460 Witt Road, Clerk's Office, Pembroke, ON K8A 6W5
  • County of Renfrew, 9 International Drive, Clerk's Office, Pembroke, ON K8A 6W5
  • Pembroke Public Library, 237 Victoria Street, Pembroke, ON K8A 4K5


We are interested in hearing any comments or concerns that you may have with the study. Comments must be received (as directed below) no later then December 7, 2017. Please send any comments or requests to either of the following:

Mr. Chris Belanger, MTO Project Manager, Ministry of Transportation; 1355 John Counter Boulevard, Postal Bag 4000, Kingston, ON K7L 5A3; tel: 613-540-5187 I toll-free: 1-800-267-0295; fax: 613-540-5106; e-mail:

Mr. Allan Ortlieb, Consultant Project Manager, IBI Group; 100-175 Galaxy Boulevard, Toronto, ON M9W OC9; tel: 416-798-5480;fax: 416-675-4620; e-mail:

Comments and information are being collected to assist the MTO in meeting the requirements of the 'Ontario Environmental Assessment Act. Information will be collected in accordance with the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act. With the exception of personal information, all comments will become part of the public record. If you have any accessibility requirements in order to participate in this project, please contact one of the project team members listed above.

Notice first posted: November 7, 2017

A pdf copy of the notice is also available for download from the Township website.  For viewing at the Township of Laurentian Valley Municipal Office, please note office hours are Monday to Friday from 8:30 am until 4:00 pm.